Considered marking or not?

Quote 1 0
Nope.  The KCBS 2018 rule(s) follow:  (If the contest rep determined that this is a marked container, or is such that makes it identifiable, they'd have a lot of explaining to do.)

5) A score of one (1) is a penalty or disqualification and
requires approval by a Contest Rep. Grounds for
penalty/disqualification: All judges will give a one (1) in
Appearance for prohibited garnish, pooled sauce or less
than 6 samples of meat. All judges will give a one (1) in
all criteria for sculptured meat, a marked turn-in
container, foreign object in the container, incorrect
meat. All judges not receiving a sample will give a one
(1) in all criteria.

12) Garnish is optional. If used it is limited to chopped, sliced, shredded or
whole leaves of fresh green lettuce, curly parsley, flat leaf parsley,
curly green kale and/or cilantro. PROHIBITED GARNISHES ARE lettuce
cores, kale stems and other vegetation, INCLUDING BUT NOT
LIMITED TO endive, red tipped lettuce. "PROHIBITED" garnish shall
receive a penalty score of one (1) on Appearance.

15) The container shall not be marked in any way so as to make the
container unique or identifiable. Aluminum foil, toothpicks,
skewers, foreign material, and/or stuffing are prohibited in the
container. Marked entries or containers with the above listed
material will receive a one (1) in all criteria from all Judges and
Quote 0 0
Yeah I know the rules. Asking the group if they would a think it is marking.  In a judges group discussion, several judges were saying it was marking, because they have never seen a box presented this way. It was very common to do a box like this some years ago. 
Quote 0 0
I would think exactly the opposite, Raine. 

If the judges had never seen a box presented that way, they would not know which team presented it.  If a particular team was KNOWN to present boxes in that way, of course it would be marking.

Quote 0 0
But nothing unique or really identifying about this presentation, as anyone could think of this way to present a box and many teams have.  Has there ever been a box counted as marking for garnish?
Quote 0 0
Charles in SC
I do not see that as a marked box. Looks good to me. Thanks posting it Raine!
Quote 0 0